I’m quite often sad as I see so many people walking around with their heads down; it seems such a shame to miss the opportunity to interact with either another person or the surrounding view. I realise that sometimes looking down IS important with so many dog owners not minding where there animals leave a calling card, but on most times when we are walking around, it’s much better to look up.
However, I was in Florence some years ago and it was a particularly hot period; the Florentines were wilting themselves under 30C + heat. It did however make for some great reflective opportunities, as in this case. I found myself wondering just how many pairs of feet it had taken to create the shapes on these setts; what changes they would have seen in the city; how many seasons they had been there and other thoughts.
Worth looking down……sometimes